NOTICE: Classes canceled today due to weather conditions. Check Blackboard for communication from your instructors.

Area high school bands take home parade trophies

BOLIVAR, Mo. — The Southwest Baptist University department of music hosted a band competition as part of the annual Homecoming parade on Oct. 1, 2016, through downtown Bolivar and the SBU campus.

Parade bands were judged on music, marching, auxiliary groups, drumline and drum major. At the conclusion of the parade, the SBU Jazz Ensemble, directed by Dr. Jeffery Waters, presented a mini-concert for the band participants during the awards ceremony in Pike Auditorium.

Award winners included:

Class 1 – first place – Bradleyville High School – Chris Sprague, director

Class 2 – first place – Mansfield High School – Autumn Bennett, director

Class 2 – second place – Fordland High School, Stephanie Taber, director

Class 2 – third place – Marion C. Early (Morrisville) High School – Tyler Curtis, director

Class 3 – first place – Strafford High School – Russell Lee, director

Best Auxiliary Group – Strafford High School

Best Drum Major – Mansfield High School

Best Drumline – Mansfield High School

Outstanding Band of the Day – Mansfield High School

The Bolivar High School Liberator Pride Marching Band, directed by Steve McClard and John Trew, also marched in the parade and as the hometown host band, did not participate in the competition.

For more information, contact Waters, dean of the College of Music, Arts & Letters, at (417) 328-1632 or