NOTICE: Classes canceled today due to weather conditions. Check Blackboard for communication from your instructors.

SBU's Clark is 2017 MMS Blue Chip award recipient

BOLIVAR, Mo. — Southwest Baptist University’s Wayne Clark, assistant professor of accounting, received the MMS Blue Chip award, presented at “The Circle of Impacting Ministry” workshop on March 2, on the Bolivar campus.

The award, which began in 2005, honors those who have helped Miller Management Systems, LLC, reach its mission, and who have “served the Kingdom of God across denominational lines and helped the church become more effective,” which is the heart of MMS’ mission.

clark.mms.award“This year’s winner is one of the hardest-working recipients ever to receive this award,” Glenn Miller, SBU graduate and founder of MMS, said of Clark. “He regularly demonstrates his commitment and dedication to the Kingdom and to helping churches get stronger.”

Criteria for the MMS Blue Chip award recipients include:

  • Demonstrate consistent support of the vision and mission of MMS of helping churches and ministries become more effective through the strengthening of their administrative processes
  • Directly assist churches and/or non-profit organizations in word and deed in the areas of administration
  • Display a commitment that transcends denominational lines to further the Kingdom of God in this world

“Over the years, we could never have dreamed the Lord would bless us with the growth and success our firm has had serving over 1,500 ministries, and counting,” Miller said. “Over the past 26 years, we have had family, friends, staff members and clients play key roles in getting established and growing into the company we are today.”

The scripture that is engraved on the award reads: “Many a man proclaims his own loyalty, But who can find a trustworthy man? A righteous man who walks in his integrity – How blessed are his sons after him.” – Proverbs 20:6-7

Previous MMS Blue Chip award winners include: George Townsend, executive vice president of Central Baptist Theological Seminary; Dr. Terry Lamberth, director of missions, CPBA; Debbie Miller, past president of NACBA; Jim Lehman, vice president of Metcalf Bank; Tracy Hale, COO of Youth America, past vice president of MMS; Dr. James Smith, executive director of the Missouri Baptist Foundation; Becky Moyer, owner of Moyer and Moyer Insurance; Dr. Jeff Klick, senior pastor of Hope Family Fellowship; Jennifer Ross, only the second employee to receive the award; and Dr. Rodney Harrison.

CUTLINE: (Left to right) Glenn Miller, Wayne Clark and Chris Miller, MMS business development manager