SBU students recognized at Honors Chapel

BOLIVAR, Mo. – Southwest Baptist University students were recognized for their contributions to their academic departments and colleges at Honors Chapel on May 2 in Pike Auditorium on the Bolivar campus.

Spring 2018 graduates honored included:

  • Outstanding Music Graduate – Karen Kelley, Jefferson City
  • Outstanding Commercial Art Graduate – Bethany Russell, Viburnum
  • Outstanding Studio Art Graduate – Erin Ashcraft, Monticello, Ark.
  • Outstanding Art Education Graduate – Jessica Griffis, Eldon
  • Outstanding Elementary Education Graduate – Brooke Miller, El Dorado Springs
  • Outstanding Middle School Education Graduate – Tori Harbison, Glen Carbon, Ill.
  • Outstanding Secondary Education Graduate – Josie Slump, Shawnee, Kan.
  • Outstanding Behavioral Science Graduate (male) – Jordan Beck, Richmond
  • Outstanding Behavioral Science Graduate (female) – Emma Richardson, Grain Valley
  • Outstanding Social Science Education Graduate – Rebekah Hynes, Springfield
  • Outstanding History Graduate – Cinasee Tapee, Jefferson City
  • Outstanding Political Science Graduate – Jacob Saatmann, Forest City, Iowa
  • Outstanding Accounting Graduate – Joseph Wagner, Joplin
  • Outstanding Business Administration Graduate – Taylor Parrish, Blue Springs
  • Outstanding Computer Science Graduate – Jordan Brown, Hermitage
  • Outstanding College of Business & Computer Science Graduate and Computer Information Science Graduate – Emily Munsell, Osceola
  • Outstanding Web Systems & Design Graduate – Sami Cruse, Coffeyville, Kan.
  • Outstanding Chemistry Graduate – Jacob Immel, Wooldridge
  • Outstanding English/Writing Graduate – Amy Vitt, Raymore
  • Outstanding Communication Arts Graduate – Tiana Brownen, Seneca
  • Outstanding Communication Arts Graduate – Kensey Dressler, Alexandria, Ky.
  • Outstanding Christian Ministry Graduate – Emily Jones, El Dorado Springs
  • Outstanding Theology Graduate – Gary Bernhardt, Falmouth, Mass.

Other honorees and scholarship recipients were:

  • J.A. Clark Biology Award recipient – Averi Walker, Ovilla, Texas
  • Snellen Scholar & Service Award recipient – Allison Cormican, Sedalia
  • James Frederick Hurst Memorial Mathematics Award recipient – Kemper Bash, West Plains
  • James Frederick Hurst Memorial Mathematics Award recipient – Jordan Brown, Hermitage
  • James Frederick Hurst Memorial Mathematics Award recipient – Josie Slump, Shawnee, Kan.
  • Outstanding First-Year Chemistry Student – Kai Woodfall, Launceston, Australia
  • Presser Scholarship recipient – Brittany Tarrant, Bolivar
  • Baker Book Award recipient – Collin Campbell, Lebanon
  • Autry & Irene Brown Scholarship recipient – Brenna Barber, Dixon
  • Autry & Irene Brown Scholarship recipient – Kasidee Miller, Springfield, Mo.
  • Joe B. Shelton Behavioral Sciences Award recipient – Kaytlynn Collins, Stockton
  • Rose E. Ray Scholarship recipients – Addilyne Bresee, Springfield, Mo.; Haley Gill, Roseville, Calif.; Whitney Sands, Newburg; Mackenzie Steelman, Springfield, Mo.; Kimber Stout, Mansfield.
  • Sara McGaha Memorial Scholarship recipient – Monica White, Eldon
  • Virginia Hopper Scholarship recipient – Audri Detlor, Bolivar

SBU will hold three Spring commencement ceremonies. The Bolivar campus undergraduate ceremony will be at 10 a.m., Saturday, May 19, on the Merrill Burnidge Memorial Forum; the graduate degree commencement will be at 3 p.m. in the Jane and Ken Meyer Wellness and Sports Center; and the Springfield campus commencement will be at 7 p.m., Thursday, May 17, at Second Baptist Church, Springfield.

*Published: 5-9-18