Winners announced for SBU's 2021 writing contest

BOLIVAR, Mo. – Southwest Baptist University’s Bob R. Derryberry Division of Language and Communication recently announced the winners of the 2021 Writing Contest.

writing contest winners pose on admin building steps holding awards and wearing face masksThe winning entries receive awards and small cash prizes, with the top entries appearing in “SCOP,” the online literary journal of the Department of Language and Literature. 

The contest was open to any current SBU student. The winning entries included:

Non-Documented Essay

Ana Brizendine – first place – “The Infinite Road to Literacy”

Taylor Brown – second place – “Literacy Narrative”

Short Story

Josey Murphy – first place – “Bonfire”

Hannah Loftin – second place – “Jones Family Lived in the House on the Corner”

Tonya Eileen-Perdue Baida – third place – “Trusting in Magic”

Documented Essay

Anna Saffels – “Sometimes I’ll Start a Sentence, y No Sé a Dónde Va.”

Sarah Teubner – “A Record of English”


Taylor Brown – “Tell Me Again How to Suffer Properly”

Anna Saffels – “Good Morning, My Beloved”

Taylor Brown – “If There is not Peace at this Pond”

For more information about SBU’s Division of Language and Communication or the writing contest, contact Dr. Holly Hill-Stanford, division head and professor of English at SBU, at or (417) 328-1682.

PHOTO: Writing Contest winners; back row (l to r): Tonya Eileen-Perdue Baida, Sarah Teubner, Ana Brizendine; front row (l to r): Josey Murphy, Taylor Brown, Anna Saffels, Hannah Loftin

*Published: 5-17-2021