SBU students recognized at Honors Chapel

BOLIVAR, Mo. – Southwest Baptist University students were recognized for their contributions to their academic departments and colleges at Honors Chapel on May 1 in Pike Auditorium on the Bolivar campus.

Spring 2019 graduates honored included:

  • Outstanding Music Graduate – Austin Hicks, Buffalo, Mo.
  • Outstanding Art Graduate – Terri Dye, Bolivar, Mo.
  • Outstanding Elementary Education Graduate – Lauren Wray, Parkville, Mo.
  • Outstanding Middle School Education Graduate – Julia DePaolo, Thornton, Colo.
  • Outstanding Secondary Education Graduate – Sarah Van Bebber, Auburn, Ill.
  • Outstanding Behavioral Science Graduate (male) – Kyle Hawkins, Bolivar, Mo.
  • Outstanding Behavioral Science Graduate (female) – Audri Detlor, Bolivar, Mo.
  • Outstanding Social Science Education Graduate – Sarah Van Bebber, Auburn, Ill.
  • Outstanding History Graduate – Carrington Peace, Lebanon, Mo.
  • Outstanding Political Science Graduate – Andrew DeShon, Kansas City, Mo.
  • Outstanding Business Administration Graduate – Cory Dudley, Lebanon, Mo.
  • Outstanding Computer Science Graduate – Emma Tsipan, Sedalia, Mo.
  • Outstanding College of Business & Computer Science Graduate and Computer Information Science Graduate – Jacob Allee, Kansas City, Mo.
  • Outstanding Web Systems & Design Graduate – Katie Lay, Independence, Mo.
  • Outstanding Chemistry Graduates – Marcel Castello, Barcelona, Spain; Breanne Freeman, Bolivar, Mo.
  • Outstanding English/Writing Graduate – Sarah Tarrant, Bolivar, Mo.
  • Outstanding Communication Arts Graduate – Jade Raynor, Springfield, Mo.
  • Outstanding Christian Ministry Graduate – Erin Ashcraft, Sherwood, Ark.
  • Outstanding Theology Graduate – Rocky Walker, Charleston, Mo.
  • Gordon & Judy Dutile Honors Program Graduates – Ilene Adair, Overland Park, Kan.; Ruthie Carpenter, Taylor, Mo.; Morgan Henderson, Louisburg, Mo.; Shelby Kurz, Basehor, Kan.; Stefani Baker, Joplin, Mo.; Dylan Pich, Union, Mo.; Joshua Reisner, Tulsa, Okla.; Isabela Schwarz, Holts Summit, Mo.; Rocky Walker, Charleston, Mo.; Kayla Windes, Springfield, Mo.

Other honorees and scholarship recipients were:

  • J.A. Clark Biology Award recipients – Andrew Campbell, Russellville, Ark.; Morgan Henderson, Louisburg, Mo.
  • Snellen Scholar & Service Award recipient – Shelby Kurz, Basehor, Kan.
  • James Frederick Hurst Memorial Mathematics Award recipients – Stefani Baker, Joplin, Mo.; Josie Rutledge, Bolivar, Mo.; Joshua Yount, Bakersfield, Mo.
  • Outstanding First-Year Chemistry Student – Joshua Yount, Bakersfield, Mo.
  • Baker Book Award recipient – Isabela Schwarz, Holts Summit, Mo.
  • Autry & Irene Brown Scholarship recipients – Joel Ridenour, Monett, Mo.; Nathan Spencer, Garfield, Ark.
  • Joe B. Shelton Behavioral Sciences Award recipient – Emma Hale, Springfield, Mo.
  • Rose E. Ray Scholarship recipients – Felicia Bell, Kansas City, Kan.; Sydney Vogel, Jefferson City, Mo.; Hailey Henry, Bethany, Mo.; Marissa Whiteside, Alton, Ill.
  • Sara McGaha Memorial Scholarship recipient – Lacy Gregory, Springfield, Mo.
  • Virginia Hopper Scholarship recipients – Sydney Myers, Topeka, Kan.; Grace Nicholson, Bolivar, Mo.; Baylee Robinson, Independence, Kan.
  • Edmond J. & Lessie Mae Dutile Memorial Scholarship recipient – Luke Winfrey, Lebanon, Mo.

SBU will hold three Spring commencement ceremonies – all in the Jane and Ken Meyer Wellness and Sports Center on the Bolivar campus. The Springfield campus commencement will be at 7 p.m., Thursday, May 16, and the Bolivar campus undergraduate ceremony will be at 10 a.m., Saturday, May 18, with the graduate degree commencement at 3 p.m.

*Published: 5-6-19