alumni association

Every graduate of Southwest Baptist University is inducted into the SBU Alumni Association during the commencement ceremony. The purpose of the SBU Alumni Association is to promote the general welfare and effectiveness of SBU through:

  1. Strengthening ties between former students of  SBU and ties with current students, faculty and staff of the University;
  2. Stimulating the interest and activity of the alumni of SBU;
  3. Preserving and furthering the mission of SBU;
  4. Supporting the University through prayer, volunteering, activities and financial support.

One of the most important functions of the Alumni Association is providing four $2,000 scholarships each year to current students. Our goal is to increase the number of scholarships we give from four to eight. Please consider giving!

SBU National Alumni Board of Directors

The SBU National Alumni Board of Directors, a governing body consisting of 15-24 members, is a group of alumni volunteers elected to assist the alumni office and to chart the course for the alumni association. The National Alumni Board of Directors responsibilities include overseeing the Alumni Association Scholarship, finalizing the selection of alumni award recipients, providing commencement gifts, guiding the student alumni association, volunteering at alumni events, etc. Mostly, the National Alumni Board of Directors seeks to find ways to engage alumni and encourage alumni to continue to be servant leaders in their professional and personal lives. If you would like to serve on the SBU National Alumni Board of Directors, please submit an application.

Apply for the alumni board

Current Board Members

President - Brian Jess '96
1st Vice President - Brenda Morris '90
2nd Vice President - Cindy Wityk Reilmann '92

Pat Betteridge '51
Charles Brazeale '91
Jillian Arnett Cavness '09, '12
Andrea Denison '01
Abby Duncan '08
Jessica Funk '03
Rachel Greene '09, '10
Tasha Rayburn '03
Jody Rogers '91
Jacquelyn Till '86
Adria Vestal '73
Graham Williams '54
Craig Wright '06, '09

Alumni Award Recognitions

Life Service Award

Established in 1955 by president John Dowdy, the Life Service Award is given annually to graduates whose lives have exemplified the principles which are upheld at SBU. Final selections are made by the Life Service Award committee of the National Alumni Association Board and then ratified by the entire board. A nominee should be at least 50 years of age. Nominees must be graduates who: (1) have lived exemplary Christian lives; (2) were in good standing as students at SBU (SWBC); (3) are or have been outstanding in their field of service; and (4) are or have been making a significant contribution to mankind. The award is presented by the president of the University at Honors Chapel during Homecoming weekend. The Life Service Award is the highest recognition that the University can bestow upon an alumnus or alumna. To nominate an individual fill out this application and include a letter of reference.

Nomination form

Edwin Lightfoot Distinguished Alumni Award

The National Alumni Association Board annually selects a recipient of this award. The recipient of this award is a graduate who has: (1) remained enthusiastically and actively involved in leadership within the Alumni Association; (2) continued to support SBU in a variety of ways, including financially; (3) demonstrated genuine interest and concern for young people; and (4) been faithful and active in the work of a local church. This award is distinct from the Life Service Award in that nominees must have been continuously involved with the University through alumni activities since graduation. To nominate an alumnus for this award please fill out this application.

Nomination Form

Nominations for the Life Service Award and the Edwin Lightfoot Distinguished Alumni Award are due by March 10, 2017.

2017 Alumni Award Recipients

Joe Dillsaver '65, '67 — Life Service Award

Bob and Leslie Marsden '73 — Life Service Award

John and Linda Sheehy '65, '67 — Life Service Award

Richard Wright '81 — Life Service Award

Steve Morrow '72 — Edwin Lightfoot Distinguished Alumni Award