NOTICE: Classes canceled today due to weather conditions. Check Blackboard for communication from your instructors.

Nancy Colbaugh, Ed.D.


  • Ed.D. in Educational Administration and Policy Analysis, University of Missouri-Columbia
    • Dissertation: "The Development of Leadership Capacity Within a School Undergoing Comprehensive School Reform"
  • Ed.Sp. in Educational Administration and Elementary Principalship, Missouri State University
  • M.S. in Music Education, Southwest Missouri State University
  • B.S. in Elementary Education, Evangel University

Selected Presentations

  • Gloria Deo Academy: Professional Development Facilitator (August, 2013)
  • Cognitive Coach Facilitator; Springfield Public Schools (2012-2016)

Related Experience

  • Elementary School Administrator, K-5, Springfield Public Schools 1993 – 2010
  • K-12 Music Teacher, Greenwood Laboratory School, Missouri State University 1990 – 1993
  • K-5 Music Teacher, Springfield Public Schools 1983-1990

Professional Organizations

  • Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (2014 – present)
  • Learning Forward (2014 – present)
  • Springfield Association of Elementary School Principals
    • President, 1999-2000
  • EdWeb Online Learning (2015-present) 
  • Simple K-12 Online Learning (2016-present)

Honors and Awards

  • National Distinguished Principal (2002) awarded by the National Association of Elementary Principals
  • School mention in Voices from the Field: Inclusion in Leadership in Empowered School: Themes from Innovative Efforts 2nd ed. Paula. M. Short & John T. Greer, Merrill Prentice Hall
  • School mention in “Accelerated Schools” Elementary Principal, MAESP Publication, January, 1999
  • “Nightlights” Hinshaw Music Publishing Co.

Church/Community Service

  • Attends Central Assemblies of God, Springfield
    • Deacon Board (2007 – 2013; October 2014 – February 2015)
    • Pianist (as needed, 1978-present)
    • Mentor Mom for MomsNext (2012-present)
    • Professional development for church school (intermittently 2000-present)