SBUBolivar, Missouri Est. 1878

Department of Music at Southwest Baptist University

Questions? Contact

Martha Hicks, D.M.A.
Chair, Department of Music, and Professor of Music
(417) 328-1633


Jane Munson-Berg
Andrew Campbell
Robert Carney
Martha Hicks
Brian Hopwood
Terri Knupps
Melinda Smashey Jones
Robin Smith
James Tarrant
Jeffery Waters
Renee Waters

Faculty associates

Marc Baker - percussion
Alejandro Gonzalés Béltran - cello
Mark Bowdidge - organ
Regina Bruner - clarinet
R. Catherine Burgher - Higher Ground
Michelle Draper - flute
Delrae Glidwell - music education
Carol Harrison - violin, viola
Eric Jackson - french horn
Angel McGlasson - oboe
Sara Miller - piano, accompanist
Melissa Roberts - piano
John Strickler - guitar
Joe Wooderson - voice
Tim Wootton - trumpet


Eric Jackson
Eric Jackson
Faculty associate – French horn
Southwest Baptist University
1600 University Avenue,
Casebolt Music Center
Bolivar, MO 65613

Jackson received a bachelor of music degree from Missouri State University and a master of music degree from the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music. He joined the faculty of both Evangel University and Southwest Baptist University in 2009. In addition to his teaching responsibilities, Jackson is working on completing his doctor of musical arts degree from the University of Missouri – Kansas City, where he studies with Martin Hackleman.

While most of his time is devoted to teaching and academic studies, Jackson also is an active performer in the Kansas City and Springfield communities. He has performed for numerous ensembles including the Evangel University Faculty Brass Quintet, Springfield Symphony, Springfield Little Theater and the Fort Smith Symphony Orchestra.

Jackson has taught actively for nearly a decade. His students often win awards in regional and state competitions and many have continued their education at prestigious music schools where they have been awarded performance scholarships.

Jackson has studied with Martin Hackleman, Thomas Bacon, Ellen Campbell, Myron Bloom, Richard Serephinoff, Richard Todd, Paul Navarro, Lisa Casey and Donna Johnson.